AMGA Announces Stringent New Cert Standard

Adds mandatory “Fourth Discipline.”

By Rock and Ice | April 1st, 2018


The AMGA, umbrella organization for American guiding since 1979, on Sunday announced a new category to be required for certification. The past process has required training and testing in alpine, ski and rock categories.

Recent participation at IFMGA meetings has alerted the American organization to a systemic deficiency. American guides will be required to address the omission, known as the Fourth Discipline, within the calendar year. See accompanying video for requirements.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments